Climate Change

Task Force Chairs

  • Ambuj Sagar
    Professor of Policy Studies
    Indian Institute of Technology
  • Joseph Stiglitz
    Initiative for Policy Dialogue

IPD’s Climate Change Task Force is dedicated to advancing the discourse on what would constitute the least unfair bargaining equilibrium on a climate change agreement, especially from the perspective of developing countries. In the past, self-interest and vested interest politics have often dominated the discussions of climate change, with little opportunity for a reasoned discourse based on or derived from commonly acceptable ethical principles and notions of economic efficiency. This Task Force brings experts from both developed and developing countries to the table to push the dialogue on a climate change agreement forward.

Recent Events

Latest Publications

  • Joint Statement of IPD Experts on Global Burden-Sharing for Climate Change

    07/07/10   Policy Brief

    Frank Ackerman, Clive Agnew, Amar Bhattacharya, Charlotte Billingham, John Broome, Michelle Chan, Kevin Conrad, Zhiyuan Cui, Jose Maria Figueres, Luis Miguel Galindo, Ato Newai Gebre-Ab, Stephany Griffith-Jones, Robert Hahn, Sivan Kartha, Martin Khor, Louis Lemkow, Mohan Munasinghe, Deepak Nayyar, Akbar Noman, Kirit Parikh, Manoj Roy, Ambuj Sagar, Wolfram Schlenker, Willi Semmler, Stephen Spratt, Nicholas Stern, Joseph Stiglitz, Hirofumi Uzawa

  • Sharing the Burden of Saving the Planet

    05/22/08   Working Paper

    Joseph Stiglitz